Hunter Pence Shows Flash of Ausmus Spring Greatness

And he better!

The Astros took BP off of the Nationals in the Spring Opener today. There were home runs all around!

All I know is I hope Pence keeps it up this spring and into the regular season.

Frequent readers of this blog know that I have a perhaps irrational belief in some players on our team, such as Wandy Rodriguez and Wesley Wright.  Well, I have an equally irrational distaste for others on our team, such as Geoff Blum and Hunter Pence.

Listen, I want them to do well, I just… eh.

With Hunter, it’s the “aw shucks” routine.  It bothers me.  Tons.  Dude, if you want to hide your private life from the media, then be like Biggio and offer the “respect the game” line.  There’s still life in that!

I think that actually Hunter enjoys the spotlight, but he wants it on his terms.  He wants to be able to be a reckless young MLB player in his private life and have adulation in his professional life, so he pretends to be all dumb and gracious.  Hunter, we all grew up with people just like you.  You spend all weekend drinking and all week sucking up.   It’s gonna catch up to you.

So, yeah, I tire of the “aw shucks” bit.  I also tire of his 100+ strikeouts every year.  I also tire of his habit of doing nothing when the bases are loaded. In 2009 he was 0 for 11 in this situation.  I know I’ve blogged about it before.

Other game notes reveal that Jason Michaels hit one out, too!  Yes, Jason Michaels!

Leave a Reply

