Rebuilding – One Position at a Time

What the heck?!  It’s a bad time to wake up to being an Astros fan.

First (and most importantly of course) the Orioles get Tejada for only $6 million?  If that sounds like a lot to you, then consider this: we’re paying a combined $6 million at third base, and that’s only counting $4.5 million to Feliz and $1.5 million to Blum.  (Yes, BLUM!)  Of course, Keppinger is back.  How should we count his salary?  I hear you, utility… but then why am I reading that Blum is utility?  And we resigned Jason Michaels, and some guy named Cory Sullivan?!  How many thirty-plus year old utility players do we need?

Back to shortstop, though.  I keep hearing that even if we had resigned Tejada, we would’ve demanded he play third base.  Yes, because Manzella needs to play.  We have too many prospects in the minor leagues, people.  Ahh!!!

I apologize for being so sarcastic and negative.  I do.  It’s just that I really don’t want Geoff Blum on this team, and I really do not see the point of Jason Michaels.  And I do not understand why we are throwing perfectly good money at plenty of old players, except for the one old player who produced for us.

Geez, I am so negative.  I’m sick of myself.  I need to get in the Astros spirit.  Maybe I’ll go shopping for some fan gear.  A pinstripe Brandon Lyon jersey will surely make me feel better.

Leave a Reply

