Weigh In on Wandy, Cooper

Cooper’s handling of Wandy really bothers me… But is it just me?  I’ll tell you what I think.  Then you tell me what you think, ‘Stros fans.

I think Wandy should never have been pulled in his last outing.  He wasn’t dominating, but he was keeping us in the game.  He’d only thrown 86 pitches, and the bullpen had pitched 8 innings the day before.  We got the win, but we also relied on the bullpen for more than was necessary.

Then last night, Wandy pitched a gem.  Cooper now has to make hay about it in the press.  However, I tend to believe Wandy’s angle more.  Cooper had taxed the bullpen too much recently.  That’s why he left Wandy in to dominate… Though still not as long as Wandy wanted.  He pleaded to be allowed to finish the shut out game, but again Cooper denied him.

I think Cooper has zero confidence in Wandy, and way too much faith in Jeff Geary, et al.  And as I said, it bothers me.

May 8:

Player IP H R ER BB K HR BFP Pit B-S ERA OpBA
W. Rodriguez (W 3-2) 8.0 5 0 0 0 7 0 29 116 34 – 82 1.80 .208

Cooper on Wandy:  “Much, much needed. I tell you what, the young man has really shown a lot this year. He’s really grown. He’s becoming a big-time pitcher, our most consistent guy by far.”

Wandy on Cooper:  “Cooper used the bullpen a lot early, and I thought about that, too,” Rodriguez said. “I needed to go long, because he used his bullpen a lot. That’s what I was thinking in the game.”

source: astros.com

May 3:

Player IP H R ER BB K HR BFP Pit B-S ERA OpBA
W. Rodriguez 5.0 6 3 3 3 3 0 23 86 31 – 55 2.19 .216

Wandy on Cooper: “I wanted one more inning, but Cooper said that’s it.  I respect this guy. I tell him, ‘I want one more inning.’ But he didn’t want to.”

Cooper on Wandy: “He was at 85 or 86 (pitches), and I just thought it looked like it was kind of getting away from him a little bit,” Cooper said. “We had some fresh guys to use there.”

“The bullpen kind of bailed us out today,” Cooper said. “Actually, the last two days.”

source: houston chronicle

 

Leave a Reply

