Drew Sutton is the Reds’ PTBNL

You’ve got to be kidding me. Drew Sutton is the player-to-be-named-later. Man, all this time I was hoping it wasn’t Sutton who was feeling like this guy.

As it turns out, the Keppinger deal was yet another one of those win-now, suck-later moves by the Astros. Actually, I guess that kind of strategy might sometimes be justifiable, but in the Astros’ case it’s more of a suck-a-little-less-now, suck-even-more later.

As Ed Wade and Tim Purpura become less and less distinguishable, it becomes even more apparent that Drayton’s pulling the strings. I realize that. The problem is that Ed Wade contributed plenty in getting the Astros into the mess of needing someone, anyone as a viable infield alternative to … Aaron Boone?

I know I’m echoing some of the recent comments here, but it’s truly depressing that McLane doesn’t give Astros fans enough credit. He doesn’t think we’ll watch a team of young upstarts.

In 2007, I called in to an Astros postgame show and said I’d much rather have the Marlins’ roster on the field and watch us lose a bunch of games, than watch our team go just over .500, or whatever. I don’t think the host agreed or cared. Well, here we are 2 years later. The Marlins have the best record in the majors, and the Astros have the oldest roster in the majors.

4 Responses to “Drew Sutton is the Reds’ PTBNL”

  1. Yeah, I saw that and didn’t like it. Sutton’s too old to project as a star or anything, but there’s no reason to trade a prospect with any potential at all for a maginal, fill-in player like Keppinger.

    I’m much happier watching young players lose than old players.

    • Cabeza De Vaca Says:

      Yeah, at 25, I guess the best you can expect is for him to be a Morgan Ensburg-type late bloomer, and he’s out of a job these days.

  2. Its easy to sit on your couches and analyze players and moves isn’t it.

Leave a Reply

