Here’s to New Beginnings

Well, it’s about time for a new start, just ask Mike Hampton, Russ Ortiz and Danny Graves. This blog needs to get rolling. Where have we been? Berkmaniac? Beckeesh? Y’all out there? Because I think we could all use some positive thinking.

I need someone to find a way to convince me that Aaron Boone is worthy of a platoon split at third base, and Jason Michaels is a worthwhile backup corner outfielder. I want someone other than the Houston Chronicle to tell me that taking a chance on Mike Hampton’s health is a good idea. (By the way, I guess the organization forgave him for sleeping with Bagwell’s now-ex wife. Heck, those two guys were on the winter caravan together.) Or maybe someone can show me that Brandon Backe is gonna put it all together this year … on the mound, not at the plate.

The more I look at this roster of David Newhan, Tim Byrdak, Michael Bourne, and four AAA catchers (update: make that three AAA catchers), the more it feels like Berkman, Oswalt and Lee are the big names at a charity softball event. I feel for you guys. Baseball Prospectus says you’re gonna go 70-92. I can’t imagine it being that bad, but I also can’t see our pitchers missing many bats.

Well, at least it’s not the NFL or NBA. Hello again, good guys.

Leave a Reply

